My Passion

I’m addicted to Maps!  Give me an address and I will be searching for it the second I get onto a computer.  I start looking at how to get there, whats around it or how long it would take to get there.  If its someplace local, I try to see if I have been by that area before and if I can remember seeing it.  Whether its using Street View on Google Maps or Birds Eye view on Bing.com, I have no preferences.

While I did not intend to go to college for Geography, I left after four years with a degree in just that and a minor in Cartography.  My first semester, as an elective, I took a World Geography course which got me into the Geography building on campus.  It wasn’t too long after that I decided to drop out of Architecture and feed my love of maps by declaring Geography as my new major.  After graduating, I found a job drawing maps and have been doing that ever since.

Its great being able to create my own maps at work but I love passing the time by just browsing maps while I am at home.  This addiction has sometimes caused me to stay up way too late just searching around a new area but it has also made for some amazing vacations due to all of the research I do before a trip.  I look into where is the best place to stay, what to do there and most importantly how to get around (especially when I don’t have a car).  Knowing how to get around a city without a car and NO SMARTPHONE, is one of my best assets.  Even if I have never been to the city before, I have done so much research that I practically know all the ins and outs of getting around a city.  I am also able to jam pack a long weekend with so many sights and experiences it will leave your head spinning.  Most recently, I traveled to Chicago for the first time and spent five days seeing everything possible but I’ll save that for a later post.

If you had a three-day weekend, what major US city would you travel too?

This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Passion

  1. Carol Dublin says:

    Good for you for launching your blog! I look forward to reading more about your travels and discoveries.

    As to your question, I confess I am not much of a traveler, but I would probably pick New York or San Francisco for the long weekend.

  2. Thanks! I would love to make it too San Francisco, its on my top 3 cities I haven’t been too before.

    As for NYC, I have been there multiple times and have loved every part of that city. I will be doing a blog post for it in the future.

  3. Don’t know that I would pick a city so much as a national park 🙂
    Though I DO love the city atmosphere
    Love your blog idea!

  4. Cities are so much fun for me because I love trying to use public transportation since I usually dont have a car to drive everywhere and to cheap to rent one. I would love to go to some National parks though! Especially Yellowstone and the Redwood forest. Maybe I can look into what to do there and how to get there. Plus I can see if renting a car is the only option or if there are public transportation options. Thanks for the idea and for reading!

  5. anncarandang says:

    The twin cities! Minneapolis and St. Paul are really nice, too! They have the skyway system, which makes it possible to get around downtown in harsh weather conditions.. I recommend visiting in warmer weather, though. You could bike around, too since all the trails are interconnected. Minnesota is visitor-friendly.=) Great blog, btw!

    • That is definitely on my short list of cities that I would love to visit! I’ve heard some great things from friends I’ve worked with here in TN. I’m originally from upstate NY so I’m not that opposed to visiting in the winter. Hopefully I’ll be able to create some blog posts of what I would do if I ever visited Minneapolis so I’ll be ready when I finally do make it up there! Thanks for stopping by!

  6. amyjane72 says:

    I love to travel!! And if I had a three day weekend… I think I would love to go to San Diego. I’ve never been but it’s on my bucket list. 🙂

  7. Matt Wyse says:

    Interesting read. I love the idea behind the blog. I think it would be insightful for anyone travels, and encouraging for those of us who don’t. An idea for a future post is something like “Top 5 things to do BEFORE you visit a new city”. You seem to be awesome at knowing your way around new places, teach your readers how to at least be average at it. Know what I mean?

Leave a Reply

