Chicago Trip – Frank Lloyd Wright

I arrived in Chicago a day earlier than my Mom after taking a nine-hour overnight bus ride on Megabus. This was my first trip on Megabus and I will definitely be using it again.  It only cost $20 for a round trip ticket from Nashville to Chicago.  Yes, I had to leave Nashville at midnight, Friday night but this meant I would be able to sleep on the bus and would arrive in Chicago at 9am Saturday.  Allowing me to see some of the attractions that my Mom wasn’t that interested in.

The Loop (FIG 1)

I started on the South Side of Chicago but in order to get to that area I would need to use public transportation.  After picking up my Go Chicago Card, I walked up the stairs to the Loop or the ‘L’ to the locals.  This is where all the trains that come in from the suburbs make a loop, on an elevated track, around downtown Chicago before heading back out to the suburbs (FIG 1).  I purchased a 7 day unlimited CTA card for $23 which would give me access to the ‘L’ and the local buses.  I figured out that the $23 would be well below the amount I would spend if I bought multiple $2.25 single ride tickets for each trip I would be taking.  The CTA only sells increments of 1, 3 and 7 day unlimited ride passes and since I was going to be there for 5 days, the 7 day was my best and basically only option.

I jumped on the GREEN metro line heading south and got off at the Garfield stop.  After a short walk through Washington Park and The University of Chicago Campus, I reached the beautiful Robie House.  Ever since learning about the Architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright in High School, I’ve been a fan.  A guided tour of the house was on the Go Chicago Card and therefore I was able to see the inside of the masterful design that Wright had built for the Robie family back in 1909.  It is considered to be the best example of the Prairie House Style that Frank Lloyd Wright was famous for.  This is only one example of his many designs located throughout Chicago but it would be one of the few that I was able to make it to while visiting Chicago.

If I had more time I would have loved to make a trip on the BLUE line to the Oak Park stop, about 10 miles west of downtown Chicago.  When Frank Lloyd Wright was living in Chicago, he had his self designed home and studio located in the Oak Park neighborhood.  It was too bad I never made it because a tour of the home and studio was included on the Go Chicago Card.  Another option is taking either a guided walking tour around the neighborhood and seeing the outside of 20+ homes that Frank Lloyd Wright also designed.  You can even purchase both tours and save a little money.

Have a favorite Architect or is it just me?  Any favorite house design styles?

This entry was posted in Chicago, Cities, Trips and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

